Training for a Triathlon


I’m starting to train for the Capital of Texas Triathlon with Team In Training and I’m documenting it.

I first learned of Team In Training about 2 years ago from my friend Thomas Caleshu. We worked together and he was raising money for Team In Training as part of this triathlon that he was going to do. It turned out that he’d had Hodgkin’s lymphoma when he was 13, but thankfully he’s been in remission for the 18 years since he completed his treatment. After watching Thomas train all the time, I got inspired to start running and I’ve been doing that for about a year and a half.

I really enjoy running and pushing myself to go farther and faster. People often ask me if I’m ever going to do any races. I haven’t up until this point because I’ve never really been interested in competitions. I don’t care about racing against anyone but myself. But what I do really enjoy is a good challenge because everyone has the opportunity to win. A few weeks ago while I was out running it occurred to me that Team In Training was more about the challenge – about challenging yourself, both in endurance and fundraising, than about competition.

That brings us to today where I’m training for this triathlon and trying to raise $3000 for the The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Both seem like pretty big and exciting challenges to me so I thought I’d start a videoblog to document what happens. So please check it out and see how I do. If you can, it would super awesome if you’d donate a few bucks to help make this happen. There are nearly a million people just in the United States living with or in remission from a blood cancer.

Leave a Reply

